From scratch: Chicken and mushroom tomato alfredo pasta

(After those long travel posts, I thought I’d change it up with a food post this time. I’ll post my review of the hotels we stayed at in Davao soon, don’t worry.)

Tomato Alfredo pasta is perfect for those who like the tangy flavor of tomato and the richness of cream. I’d never tried making it before, so I decided to give it a shot one afternoon for lunch over Christmas break.

I found a recipe developed by Ree Drummond, a.k.a. The Pioneer Woman that I thought would be a good base, then I put my own twist to it. Since the people I’d be feeding (including myself) were particularly ravenous that day, I decided to make the dish extra substantial by adding chicken and mushrooms.

EatPlayLog Chicken and mushroom tomato alfredo pasta

Ingredients:
2 Tbsp. olive oil
2 Tbsp. butter
2 large skinless boneless chicken breasts, cubed
1 can button mushrooms (200g drained weight), sliced
5 cloves garlic, minced
1 medium onion, finely chopped
850g tomato sauce
750g pasta of your choice (I used bow tie)
1 250ml all-purpose cream
Salt and pepper, to taste
Basil (I used dried, but if you have it fresh, go for it), to taste
Parmesan cheese, for serving

Procedure:
1. Cook the chicken cubes in one tablespoon olive oil thoroughly and take them out of the pan.

EatPlayLog Chicken and mushroom tomato alfredo pasta
In a fowl mood today

 

2. Put the rest of the olive oil in the pan and fry up the mushrooms. Take them out when they’re a bit browned.
EatPlayLog Chicken and mushroom tomato alfredo pasta

 

3. Put butter into the pan and saute the onions. When the onions are halfway transparent, add the garlic.
EatPlayLog Chicken and mushroom tomato alfredo pasta

 

4. Pour in all the tomato sauce and add the chicken and mushroom into the pan. Season with salt, pepper, and basil and simmer for five to 10 minutes.

EatPlayLog Chicken and mushroom tomato alfredo pasta
Simmer, simmer, pasta dinner
EatPlayLog Chicken and mushroom tomato alfredo pasta
Meat and “meat”

 

5. While waiting, prepare the pasta in a pot of salted water until it’s al dente. Drain and set aside.

 

6. When the sauce is ready, turn off the stove and add the all-purpose cream.

EatPlayLog Chicken and mushroom tomato alfredo pasta
Here we go…
EatPlayLog Chicken and mushroom tomato alfredo pasta
Mmm. Creamy and tomato-ey…

 

7. Mix the sauce into the pasta thoroughly. What I like to do is layer it to make sure no piece of pasta is left un-sauced. Put a bit of sauce at the bottom of a pan or bowl, put a third of the pasta in, and add more sauce and mix. Keep doing this in batches until everything’s mixed together. If you’re scared of destroying the pieces of pasta, use a spatula or wooden spoon to mix.

EatPlayLog Chicken and mushroom tomato alfredo pasta
Touchdown
EatPlayLog Chicken and mushroom tomato alfredo pasta
Mix it. Mix it good

 

8. Serve with Parmesan cheese and dig in.

EatPlayLog Chicken and mushroom tomato alfredo pasta
Just a few more photos and I can eat

 

Now if a bowl of this doesn’t fill you up, I don’t know what will. Give it a try and let me know how it goes.

All images, unless otherwise stated, belong to eatplaylog.wordpress.com. If you want to share them, please include credit and a linkback. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

