Down under in Davao, Part 4

(Part 1 comes first, followed by Part 2, then Part 3, before this one. Just saying.)

Day 4 started with us getting up early for a buffet breakfast, which we wanted to finish right away. It was, after all, our last day, and we wanted to make the most of it. First thing we did after eating was take another dip in the pool, then when we could no longer put off the inevitable, we freshened up, packed up our stuff, and checked out of Hotel Tropika.

EatPlayLog Davao City Hotel Tropika bedroom
Check out that view
EatPlayLog Davao City Hotel Tropika buffet breakfast
Breakfast is ready
EatPlayLog Davao City Hotel Tropika swimming pool
Another dip was the only proper goodbye we could think of
EatPlayLog Davao City Hotel Tropika coffee Spanish bread durian candy
What I was doing after showering and while waiting for check-out

Kuya and his trusty vehicle was once again waiting to take us where we needed to go this time, which was lunch. A quick one at McDonald’s (joined by Kuya‘s wife) and we were out there to buy pasalubong for friends and family back home. First stop was the wet market for those plump, sweet pomelo (which we bought tons of) and the strangely addictive Lola Abon’s durian caramel candy. No way in hell was I going home with the actual fruit in tow. I know I’m going to get flak for this, but I have never tried durian, and I’m not sure I ever will.

And because we had some time to kill, but didn’t want to stray too far from the airport (traffic was a bitch; it reminded us of being back in Manila), we visited some malls to pick up other things to take home and, yes, for more coffee. By this time,  Kuya‘s daughter had joined us as well, and we were pretty much just sitting around, waiting.

Finally, the clock struck 5, and it was time to head to Francisco Bangoy Airport, where this all started. Then, laden with a load of pomelo and a lot of great memories, we said our goodbyes to Kuya and his family, and entered the airport to wait for our trip home.

I wish I could say that I did absolutely everything I planned on doing on this trip. Don’t get me wrong; I’m happy I was able to cross of the two major items on the list (1. Go to Davao, 2. See my half-brother and his family), but four days really are not enough when exploring a new place. So many things were left undone, like dinner at Jack’s Ridge, swimming at a crystal-clear Hagimit Falls, and snorkeling at Talicud Island. But then, isn’t that what repeat visits are for? So you can do everything else you didn’t the first time?

EatPlayLog Davao Samal Island Kaputian Beach sea swimming vacation
Managed to capture the, um, cleaner side of Kaputian Beach
EatPlayLog Davao City Pacific Palm Suites Annipie coffee break
One of our many coffee breaks

On our next Mindanao adventure, on top of those two things, we also plan on going further by visiting Kuya‘s farm in Sultan Kudarat, which is about seven hours from Davao City. He also told us about this place called Balut Island way way down south, which he says is just a swimmer’s paradise. Then I also want to venture out to the greenery of Mount Apo in Cotabato. But I’m getting ahead of myself. There ought to be time for that in the future. For now, I just want to relish the idea that I actually got to go to Davao.

EatPlayLog Davao Samal Island beach sea vacation
Until we meet again, Davao

All images, unless otherwise stated, belong to eatplaylog.wordpress.com. If you want to share them, please include credit and a linkback. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

