Nothing vague about Confusion Diner (restaurant review)

Our dinner here a few months ago came about as an effort to further explore the untapped potential of the BF Parañaque food scene. So many restaurants were popping up left and right, and it was getting harder and harder to keep up. Luckily, we had the appetites to at least put a dent in the hundreds of restaurants currently open in the area, so don’t feel too sorry for us.

(I would have done this review earlier, but my old phone had finally given up on me, so my notes got lost, though by brother-in-law did get to save the photos. I’ll try my best to give you a rundown of my experience, though.)

Anyway, I only learned of Confusion Diner along Aguirre Avenue as it is nestled in between two restaurants we’ve tried in the past: the fantastically cheap but delicious Crazy Katsu and the all-sizzle-but-no-steak The Burgery (to understand my sentiment, read my review on Zomato). The interior is warmly lit and combines a military mess hall with a movie buff’s bedroom. Let’s just say if Army Navy and Pancake House had a baby, this would be it. Not saying that’s a bad thing, though. The service is great too; people were very friendly, and our waiter (sorry; I left his name in my now-defunct old phone) was helpful in giving feedback on what the dishes were like.

eatplaylog-confusion-diner-1

eatplaylog-confusion-diner-2

Their menu goes across various cuisines, from Filipino to Mexican, so it’s easy enough to find something you’ll like. And everything is affordable, and I do mean affordable; the most expensive things on the menu are the Php300 Sriracha Ribs, BBQ Ribs, and Ribeye Salpicao. The two latters we ordered by my brother-in-law, along with my sister’s lechon kawali (Php150) and my Beefy Mushroom with Egg (Php160).

Gluttons that we were, we decided to start with an order each of chicken fingers (Php155) and fish n’ chips (Php170), each large enough for three people. I liked how crisp on the outside and tender on the inside the chicken was, and was very pleased by the fact that they served it with equally crisp fries. I didn’t think they went well with the sweet and sour dip, so it was a good thing the fingers and fries were good enough to eat on their own. But as crisp as it was on the outside, the fish on the other hand didn’t really taste like much of anything.

eatplaylog-confusion-diner-3
Chicken fingers
eatplaylog-confusion-diner-4
Fish ‘n chips

Then the main dishes made their landing. The pieces of beef in my dish reminded me of the garlicky Beef Misono in Tokyo Tokyo, only this one had mushrooms mixed in. It was tender, savory, heavenly. The only thing that made it better—and I’m not sure how—is when you eat every bite with a bit of the fried egg, then it was like magic. Substantial, tasty, and affordable, this is amazing comfort food you have to try at least once.

eatplaylog-confusion-diner-5
Beefy mushroom with egg

I wasn’t about to let my sister polish off her lechon kawali without sampling it. This, too, was just as tasty, with crunch and tenderness where they matter.

eatplaylog-confusion-diner-6
Lechon kawali

They nailed the Ribeye Salpicao in terms of flavor, but I thought it could have used a bit more cooking as the pieces were a tad chewy. And though I’m usually wary of ribs since they tend to be on the sweet side, I did sample the BB Ribs. They were tender and flavorful, and didn’t taste like the chef had an oversupply of sugar he was trying to get rid of.

eatplaylog-confusion-diner-7
Ribeye salpicao
eatplaylog-confusion-diner-8
BBQ ribs

Later on, we decided to share a choco lava cake to share like we hadn’t just made pigs of ourselves. Topped with vanilla ice cream and drizzled with chocolate syrup, it was warm, gooey, and decadent. I would probably have finished it by myself if I wasn’t already bursting at the seams (and I didn’t have two equally rabid dessert fans with me).

eatplaylog-confusion-diner-9
Choco lava

For the flavor, price, and service, I would definitely be back to try their other food. I mean, I know we’re trying to visit new restaurants and all, but there’s nothing wrong with going back to something you’ve tried and grown to love, right? To some people, it’s a long-lost love. To me, it’s that Beefy Mushroom with Egg.

Overall rating: ★★★✭☆

Confusion Diner
231 Aguirre Avenue, BF Homes, Parañaque City

All images, unless otherwise stated, belong to eatplaylog.wordpress.com. If you want to share them, please include credit and a linkback. Thanks.

Confusion Diner Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a Reply

