From scratch: Chocolate chunk peanut butter pancakes with banana cinnamon topping

I’ve been wanting to make peanut butter pancakes for a while now, but for some reason, I’d always fall back to the old habit of making them plain and having everyone just top them with whatever they want. Well, I decided yesterday to stop procrastinating and finally get to those peanut butter pancakes.

Not only that, to make things more special, I decided to make a banana cinnamon topping to go with it because peanut butter and bananas just make sense together. But I said to myself, you know what would bring this over the edge? Chocolate chunks, because peanut butter and chocolate are a no-brainer.

Chocolate Chunk Peanut Butter Pancakes Banana Cinnamon Topping Breakfast EatPlayLog 4

Instead of using the usual pancake recipe I’ve been cooking with for a while now and adding peanut butter to it, I decided to look for one specifically designed for the task. I felt that, since I’m working with peanut butter, I might encounter textural issues if I use a recipe not usually meant for peanut butter pancakes. A quick search revealed a recipe by the great Rosa Parks who, aside from being one of the most significant personalities in American history for her passion for achieving race equality, apparently made kickass peanut butter pancakes.

She called her recipe “featherlite” because, I assure you, as long as you follow her ingredients faithfully, there’s no reason why you shouldn’t end up with incredibly light and fluffy pancakes.

The ingredients:
1 cup flour
2 tablespoons baking powder
½ teaspoon table salt
2 tablespoons sugar
1 egg
1 1/4 cup milk
1/3 cup peanut butter
1 tablespoon shortening, melted, or oil

Chocolate Chunk Peanut Butter Pancakes Banana Cinnamon Topping Breakfast EatPlayLog 1

Now, the ingredients didn’t come with procedures, so I figured all you do is sift together all the dry ingredients in one bowl, mix all the wet stuff in another bowl, and combine both when the greased pan’s hot enough (remember not to over mix).

Chocolate morsels are usually the choice for chocolate chip pancakes, but I figured I’d use some chocolate chunks this time since they stay soft and melted even after a while. I bought a 200-gram bar of cooking chocolate, but only used half because I wanted to make plain peanut butter too for those who lead sad lives and prefer their pancakes chocolate chunk-less. Anyway, I chopped up the chocolate into good-sized pieces, about the size of my index finger nail.

Chocolate Chunk Peanut Butter Pancakes Banana Cinnamon Topping Breakfast EatPlayLog 3

Use a quarter cup to ladle batter into the heated pan and quickly embed chocolate chunks into it. I don’t want the chocolate to burn when I turn the pancake over, so I use a knife to cover up the chunks with the batter surrounding it before it settles. These suckers go brown pretty quickly, so keep an eye on them so they don’t burn. Once you get them off the pan, smear them with a bit of butter. Or a lot, that’s up to you. The recipe can make around 10-11 pancakes.

As for the banana cinnamon topping, I just used the recipe and procedure for the apple cinnamon topping I posted a few weeks ago. I replaced the apples with four round bananas (not the usual yellow kind). Put everything in a small pot and boil the mixture until the banana is soft enough but not mushy.

Chocolate Chunk Peanut Butter Pancakes Banana Cinnamon Topping Breakfast EatPlayLog 2

If you manage to do everything right, the result’s very addicting, so be prepared to have family and friends asking you to make them time and time again. Hope yours turn out well.

All images, unless otherwise stated, belong to eatplaylog.wordpress.com. If you want to share them, please include credit and a linkback. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

