Apple Cinnamon Pancakes featured breakfast EatPlayLog

From scratch: apple cinnamon topping

Guess what? I’m sharing another pancake recipe! But before you roll your eyes and say, “oh no, not again,” please understand that making and eating pancakes are two of my greatest passions in life. And besides, I’m not focusing on the pancakes this time. I actually decided to prepare something to go with the pancakes: apple cinnamon topping.

Apple Cinnamon Pancakes breakfast EatPlayLog

Sometimes we buy a lot of apples that end up going bad because we don’t eat them fast enough. Well, I wasn’t about to let that happen this time. I’ve been wanting to amp up my pancakes anyway, so I went ahead and warned everyone at home not to touch the remaining apples we have. I Googled a recipe (shout-out to homemadehooplah.com for this incredibly simple one), and got started.

Apple Cinnamon topping (serves 4-5)
2 apples (any kind)
2 tbsp butter
2 tbsp brown sugar
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 cup maple syrup

How to do it:
1. Wash the apples well, peel and core them, and chop them up.
2. Toss the apples into a pot along with the rest of the ingredients, put them on medium heat and cook for 3-6 minutes.
3. That’s pretty much it. Serve and enjoy!

Apple Cinnamon Pancakes 4 breakfast EatPlayLog

====

By the way, I found a new pancake recipe I’ve been using more recently than the one I shared months ago (thanks, Very Easy Recipes):

Ingredients (makes 8-10 pancakes):
180 g (6.3 oz) all-purpose flour / plain flour
2 medium eggs
50 g (1.7 oz) melted butter
275 ml (9.2 oz) milk
50 g (1.7 oz) granulated sugar
1 tsp pure vanilla extract
1/2 tsp of salt
3 tsp baking powder (16 g / 0.5 oz)

Just sift all the dry stuff in one bowl, and mix all the wet stuff in another. Don’t combine the two mixtures until the pan’s on the stove to avoid flat pancakes. I use a quarter cup to ladle out 4-inch pancakes. Now, back to regular programming.

====

Like an idiot, I did a rough chop of the apples for the topping, so while boiling the mixture, I was picking out big pieces and slicing them up. Try to make all the pieces the same size—around half-inch cubes (about the size of your thumbnail, unless you’re Elvira)—to make them cook evenly.

Also, some apples tend to be a bit crisper than others, so not all cooking times are the same. I used Fuji apples (my favorite), which are very crunchy, so I actually had to cook them for about 8 minutes to get them to the texture I want: soft but not mushy.

Apple Cinnamon Pancakes 3 breakfast EatPlayLog

What should come out is a concoction of soft apple bits in a sweet sauce, kind of like a naked apple pie. Scared that the sugar and maple syrup will be too sweet? Not to worry; a hint of tartness from the apple should give it a nice balance. The sauce might come out a bit runny, so if you want to keep boiling it for a thicker consistency, don’t forget to take the apples out first so you don’t overcook them. Just put them back in when you’re happy with the sauce.

There really is no rule about how much of the mixture you pile onto your pancakes. Aside from pancakes, you can actually use the topping for other things, like French toast (which I plan on doing soon), or maybe some plain pound cake that needs livening up?

All images, unless otherwise stated, belong to eatplaylog.wordpress.com. If you want to share them, please include credit and a linkback. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

