tuna omelette eatplaylog

From scratch: Tuna omelette

As much as I love having pancakes for breakfast , I do enjoy the occasional egg to start the day with. Scrambled’s my go-to style because it’s fast and easy, and I can’t stand runny yolk (don’t hate me, but the stuff makes me gag, which is weird because I used to love it as a kid). If I’m feeling up for the challenge, I go for a well-done sunny side-up (I say challenge because despite liking the yolk cooked all the way through, I like to keep it intact, which can be quite a task). But recently, wanted to see how far I can push myself when it comes to fancy schmancy cooking, so I decided to make a proper omelette.

tuna omelette eatplaylog

Prior to this little experiment, I’ve only ever done the lazy omelette where you stir everything (eggs and all) in the pan so everything looks like a goopy, convoluted mess (though a tasty one). I’ve never taken the time to do the folding technique, but since it was a weekend and I had a lot of time in my hands, I thought this would be as good a time as any to practice.

Turns out, it wasn’t as hard as I thought it would be. I decided on tuna after seeing how much of the stuff we had in the kitchen. A quick Google search gave me the basics and I went to town with it.

Ingredients:
2 eggs
1/3 cup tuna from a can
1 tbsp sliced button mushrooms
1 tbsp sliced black olives
30g shredded cheddar cheese
1 tsp chopped parsley
Onion and garlic (for sautéing)
Cooking oil (for sautéing)
Salt and pepper
Butter or cooking oil (for cooking omelette)

Optional side:
Buttered toast

How I did it:
1. Saute the tuna in some oil, garlic, and onion. (What I did was saute an entire tin of tuna for cooking by batch, so I used half a medium-sized onion and two cloves of garlic). Set aside.
2. Beat eggs with some salt and pepper, and 1/2 tsp parsley.
3. Put the skillet in the fire. When it’s hot enough (not smoking), pour in the egg mixture and move the skillet around to coat the entire bottom with the mixture. Lift the sides of the egg and let the uncooked mixture slip underneath to set.
4. When the egg’s almost set (and I mean almost; it has to still be a bit wet), start piling in the dry ingredients on one half of the omelette. Start with the tuna, followed by the mushrooms and olives, and then top with the cheese.
5. Once everything’s in, fold the other half of the egg over the toppings. Turn off the stove. Cover the pan for about a minute to let the cheese melt a bit.
6. Transfer the omelette to a plate and sprinkle the rest of the parsley on top. Serve hot with buttered toast.

Tuna omelette eatplaylog

The amount of mushrooms, olives, and cheese is really up to you. If you want more or less of any of them, feel free to edit. If you serve it with two slices of buttered toast, a single omelette can feed two, so go easy on doubling the recipe. And be sure to use a pan large enough so you can manipulate the omelette easily.

The way I made it, I thought it turned out quite well (and so did the people who tasted it). I do want to try some new things when I make them again soon, like using ham instead of tuna, or a different type of cheese, maybe.

All images, unless otherwise stated, belong to eatplaylog.wordpress.com. If you want to share them, please include credit and a linkback. Thanks.

One thought on “From scratch: Tuna omelette”

  1. You can certainly see your enthusiasm in the article you
    write. The arena hopes for more passionate writers such as you who
    are not afraid to mention how they believe. All the
    time follow your heart.

    Like

Leave a Reply

