Restaurant review: Mad Mark’s Creamery and Good Eats

So, one of the places I’ve had on my list in a while of restaurants to visit has been Mad Mark’s Creamery, but more because of their supposedly great ice cream than their savory offerings. But then when I was looking for a good steak place one day while I was at the office, it popped up during my online search, so I figured, might as well give it a shot.

The interior reminds me a bit of Cow Bell, actually; lots of wood surfaces and glass. It’s a little on the small side, so I was glad I was there a bit early and during Christmas break (when much of Metro Manila was on holiday leave). I only had to wait a couple of minutes before I was led to an available table.

mad marks 1

mad marks 3

mad marks 2

I had already checked out their menu on Zomato, so I had a pretty good idea of what I wanted. Unfortunately, the page for their Glorietta 5 branch didn’t have a menu, and the Kapitolyo branch’s menu wasn’t updated, so I was thrown for a loop when I cased their actual menu. (Dear Zomato, please fix this immediately) When I recovered, I asked for the set plate of steak (medium well) with a side of smashed potato and garden grains (Php 340; no drink).

mad marks 4

mad marks 5

Waiting gave me a chance to really take in the place, and some of it I liked and didn’t like. Like: bright and airy atmosphere, nice servers. Dislike: flies. They were everywhere. I was seated inside, but the door leading to the alfresco seating area was kept open. (At one point while eating, one of the servers took a swatter and actually smacked one of them on the table next to mine. Not exactly something that increases one’s appetite.)

Anyway, the food came and (after the obligatory food shots), I dug in. I have to say, the steak was very good. It was tender even in its medium well state. The plate came with your sauce of choice (I picked mushroom), but it honestly didn’t need it because it was seasoned well enough. Having said that, the mushroom sauce was a bit on the spicy side, which I thought nicely cut through the richness of it.

mad marks 7

The smashed potatoes were nice and chunky, very homemade-y. The garden grain was OK. Stupid of me to assume (instead of just asking) that “garden grains” meant “side of veggies”. And the I realized, “grains!” with a mental smack on the forehead.

So, while my original plan to sample Mad Mark’s ice cream didn’t pan out, I don’t mind at all, as the meal I had (which was also quite sizeable) was pretty satisfying. At least I have a reason to come back, and not just for that great piece of steak. Next time, I’m going all the way.

Overall rating: ★★★☆

Mad Mark’s Creamery
Second Floor, Glorietta 5, Ayala Center, Makati City

All images, unless otherwise stated, belong to eatplaylog.wordpress.com. If you want to share them, please include credit and a linkback. Thanks.

Mad Mark's Creamery & Good Eats Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a Reply

