In photos: Christmas with altitude

First, I think some apologies are in order. I know I haven’t posted in a while because I’ve been crazy busy during the holidays and even after that. I have to say, I did miss sharing some stuff here, so I’m going to try to update my blog a bit more regularly starting now. (I’m not calling it a resolution; resolutions are delusional statements you’re expected to break a couple of weeks into the new year.)

Just to kick things off, I’m going to start with some photos of our Christmas trip to Baguio, where we fogged up our breaths in 16-degrees-or-lower nights, had coffee in the clouds, and made like Superman at the tree tops. I thought it would be a great place to practice nature photography, so brace yourself for a lot of wish-you-were-here-postcard-looking images.

1
The view from our hotel room
2
We couldn’t resist pulling over on the side of the road on the way to Cafe in the Sky.
3
I showed this photo to my nephew, who asked, “Were you wearing a parachute?”
4
Standing in the parking lot of Cafe in the Sky (located at the top of Mt. Santo Tomas in Tuba, Benguet). According to the person we talked to who works there, when you stop by at around 7PM, the clouds get so high, you actually get immersed in them.
5
Almost surreal
18
Dinner at Amare La Cucina. One of the few food photos I took. Odd, right? Must’ve been the weather.
6
A canopy of trees at Camp John Hay
7
Another POV shot
8
If you love trees, you’re going to want to go to Camp John Hay.
17
Doesn’t matter where you are, you always go back to the familiar.
19
Lasagna for lunch at Cookout by Size Matters
9
My companions at Tree Top Adventure. See how excited they are?
10
Took this while sitting in the moving Canopy Ride. Couldn’t help it.
11
And I thought views like this only existed in four-season countries.
12
Another “just chilling” photo
13
One side of the trail is safe, the other… well, just stay on the safe side.
14
Being out of shape that we were, we stopped a lot. Gave me time to shoot more photos at least.
15
I think they might be siblings. The image was so perfect, I couldn’t help but sneak a photo.
16
If you push yourself enough during the trek, you’re rewarded with a view like this.

 

You can also see more of my photos at instagram.com/jillian.ic.

All images, unless otherwise stated, belong to eatplaylog.wordpress.com. If you want to share them, please include credit and a linkback. Thanks.

2 thoughts on “In photos: Christmas with altitude”

Leave a Reply

