Southern food crawl, part 4: Christmas roulade at Melo’s

Melo’s was Stop #4 of our Westgate food crawl after we had our fill of that lingering sinigang paella at Neil’s. I’ve had steak at Melo’s before (at the BGC branch), and whatever good things you’ve heard about their meat is true. They do have some of the best steaks I’ve tasted, so I was looking forward to having more of it.

Melo’s decided to offer us something special (and off-menu) in time for Christmas: a roulade of flank steak stuffed with turkey meat and served with cranberry sauce and gravy. As full as I was getting after visiting three restaurants, I was looking forward to getting my hands on some great steak, so I was ready.

The plates of roulades finally started coming out of the kitchen and landing in front of us. They all looked so nice, I almost didn’t want to touch mine. And I didn’t. For about 15 seconds. Then I let my fork and knife have it.

Melo's 1

And it was… okay. I have to confess, I was expecting a little bit more, but to start with, the meat was kind of over for me. It was just a little too cooked on the outside, but curiously under on the inside. I also couldn’t really find the turkey inside all the meat. I skipped the cranberry since I wasn’t into mixing the savory with the sweet. The gravy was pretty tasty, though.

So, while I didn’t enjoy this Christmas roulade that much, I have no problem coming back. Maybe this style just wasn’t for me, but like I said, they do offer great steaks, and ones that are actually on their regular menu.

Last part‘s just around the corner.

Overall rating (based on the food): ★✭☆☆

Melo’s
Westgate Center, Filinvest City, Muntinlupa City

Disclosure: This visit was organized by the restaurant’s management in cooperation with Zomato Philippines. The opinions expressed in this post are based on my own experience and were in no way influenced by said groups.

All images, unless otherwise stated, belong to eatplaylog.wordpress.com. If you want to share them, please include credit and a linkback. Thanks.

Melo's Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

Leave a Reply

