Exploring Palawan, day 6: we’re on our way home (video)

From swimming at El Nido to snorkeling at Honda Bay, it’s almost hard to go home.

We had to get up early this day to get to the airport in time for our 7:15 flight, so I was up and at ’em by 4. Once I was done with the bathroom, everyone took turns getting ready. After packing up everything and checking that nothing was left behind, we were out the door by 5:30.

At the lobby, we settled our bill and waited for our take-out breakfast, which we had requested for. Armed with styrofoam boxes of hot food, we piled into the hotel’s airport service and headed off.

IMG_20150805_060203_Fotor resized

At the airport, we checked in Dani’s luggage, paid the terminal fee (Php 200) and plopped into a row of seats to have breakfast. By this time I’d stopped hoping for bacon so I wasn’t disappointed when I found hotdogs, a fried egg and rice in the box. What I wan’t expecting was finding no plastic utensils to eat with. Great. Good thing one of the convenience stores at the airport was selling them. We got into the food and waited for our flight to be called.

We didn’t have to wait long. In an unbelievably lucky turn of events, our plane actually arrived early, so we started boarding ahead of time too.

IMG-1438728516661-V_Fotor resized

The flight back was pretty bittersweet. I do miss being home, but a large part of me was wishing I was still at one of the islands of El Nido soaking up the sun, or swimming at Isla Pandan and looking for clown fish. In a way, I was glad we didn’t get to do absolutely everything we wanted to do during those six days. The thought of accomplishing tours B, C, and D just motivates me to go back. Plus, there’s the fact that we haven’t even reached Coron yet. Now I’m just content to rest up and get ready for our next getaway.

=========

(One more thing: I have to mention that when we first got to Palawan, I was hit with this crazy craving for Choc-Nut. I don’t know why. Motley Crew went with my insane mission to find them in every sari-sari, grocery, and convenience store we passed. (Dani and I eventually found some at Mercury Drug on our last night at Puerto Princesa.) Thank you, guys, for putting up with me on my almost futile search for these elusive sweets.

Before we get to the video, allow me to commend our boys, Con and AJ, for making it. Aside from being kickass videographers and editors, they’re graphic artists, so in case you’re looking for freelancers, you can reach them at lincoln.gasmen@gmail.com and artieusreyes91@gmail.com.

And now, our mini-documentary (Track: “Cross My Mind” by Twin Forks):

All images, unless otherwise stated, belong to eatplaylog.wordpress.com. If you want to share them, please include credit and a linkback. Thanks.

 

Leave a Reply

