Love and hate at B&B: Burgers and Brewskies (restaurant review)

If you’ve been following my blog for a while, you know that meat and I go way back. I’ve always liked me some red meat, and will never give it up for the hottest, sexiest vegetable that comes around. A nice piece of steak is a thing of beauty, but if I can’t get any, a juicy patty sandwiched between two soft buns is an excellent alternative (is this starting to sound dirty?). I’m not one to pass up an opportunity to try a new burger place, so when after months of being bugged by a friend to try B&B: Burgers and Brewskies the chance finally came, we and a few other buddies of ours quickly went and sought satisfaction from this much buzzed-about hotspot.

B&B’s ambiance is that of the perfect midnight hangout for night owls. There are plenty of seats inside and out and they have a second floor too, though on a busy night, you’ll need to get there early to snap up a table.

As you may have guessed by now, B&B specializes in burgers and alcohol, but as much as I wanted to try their drinks, my focus was on whatever was on their burger list that looked the best. The food on the menu has some pretty interesting handles: a Heisenberg (yes, of the Breaking Bad fame) has bleu cheese sauce (I’m guessing it’s a hat tip to Walter’s blue crystal meth) and a Walk of Shame has everything on it but the kitchen sink.

brothers and brewskies

My friend suggested that we Call the Nurse. Not an actual nurse: the Call the Nurse, as all of the burgers, start with a 1/3 lb. beef patty, but then they add spiced mustard aioli and their signature cheese sauce. Here’s why you need some TLC from a lady (or gent) with medical training: inside the burger is a small block of seared mac and cheese. As in “holy shit, there’s mac and cheese in the burger? Not on the side? In there?” As if that weren’t enough, they toss in some honey sriracha bacon. I need to sit down.

burgers and brewskies friesWhile we wait for our glorious order (good thing my friend has a small appetite like me so we decided to split one burger), we munched on some French fries happily swimming in slightly spicy cheese sauce. My friends took advantage of happy hour (which ended at 7PM that night) and ordered cocktails, but I was too eager to pounce on my delicious-sounding burger to get one myself.

And then the burger came. And I took my first bite. And it was… OK. Let me explain why I sound less enthusiastic now. The burger patty, while flavored well, seemed a bit loose and fell apart a little. The mac and cheese was delicious enough on its own but eating it in the burger was overkill. I only managed a couple of small bites of the mac-and-burger combo before I started fearing for my life. It was just too heavy. As for the honey sriracha bacon? I didn’t like it. It was like eating a piece of candy or Chinese ham, it was so sweet. I can’t even remember when (or if) the sriracha kicked in because the sweetness overpowered it. Did I mention how sweet it was? Never have I felt more betrayed by something I adore; it was like a lover sugarcoating itself to hide its ugly reality. Sigh.

burgers and brewskies call the nurseSo, would I come back here again? Sure. Like I said, the meat was seasoned pretty well (maybe I can ask them to cook it a bit more so it stays together), so if that’s what ends up on all the burgers, the right combo must be out there waiting for me. Maybe I just need to try them all to find my match. (OK, between the lust earlier and the romance now, I really need to get a life.)

Overall rating: ★★★✭☆

Bellagio 2, Forbes Town Center, Burgos Circle, Bonifacio Global City, Taguig City

 

All images, unless otherwise stated, belong to eatplaylog.wordpress.com. If you want to share them, please include credit and a linkback. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

