A fresh approach to showering with Dove (product review)

When I first saw the Dove Go Fresh commercial of the girl showering with the product, it was one of the rare moments I felt compelled to buy something based on a TV ad. The sounds and visuals were creatively put together: the splish-splosh of shower water perfectly matched that girl’s smiling, laughing, feel-good vibe and dammit, I wanted to be that happy too.

I couldn’t find the Philippine version of the ad, but it was pretty much like this one:

Recently I had the chance to try Dove Go Fresh for the first time, and I was excited. The formula contains green tea extract and cucumber to give it that fresh scent. While I’m not a fan of green tea as a drink and I only appreciate cucumber as a burger add-on, I was at least confident that it wouldn’t smell like Grandma’s sickly sweet perfume rubbed off on me after she gave me a hug while commenting on how tall I’ve grown and asking where’s the bathroom.

20150218_230128_Fotor

Anyway, after heating up the water for my bath, I step into the shower, lather up, and the body wash was… okay. Not really the jump-up-and-down, splash-water-all-around goodness I was expecting. What happened? Was it because I used hot water? Did I not do enough warm ups to prep for the mid-lather dance? Serves me right for letting a TV commercial sway me.

20150218_225942_Fotor

Don’t get me wrong; it’s not a bad product. I guess I just psyched myself up too much, but it does have its good points. It smells nice; really fresh and clean, not syrupy. The scent doesn’t linger on your skin for a long time, though, which is a bummer. It’s got a thick consistency, so you don’t have to use up half the bottle to bubble up your loofah. It also doesn’t take hours to wash it off, and actually left my skin soft and moisturized.

So even though it didn’t turn me into that flighty girl in the ad, for all its pros, Dove Go Fresh body wash is a buy for me. Come to think of it, who looks that happy while taking a shower anyway? She must’ve been on something. Yeah, that’s it.

Overall rating: ★★★☆

All images, unless otherwise stated, belong to eatplaylog.wordpress.com. If you want to share them, please include credit and a linkback. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

