Lukewarm feelings for Gelatissimo’s chili chocolate (food review)

I love chocolate, and I’ve always had a thing for spicy food, so when I discovered the existence of ice cream that combined both flavors, I’d always wanted to know if the mix would be as good as I imagine two explosive flavors would be. I only got to experience for myself what the combo’s like when my family and I recently stopped at BGC’s Gelatissimo.

I generally like Gelatissimo’s ice cream. My favorite flavor has to be the chocolate truffle one (we’ve already established my obscene relationship with chocolate), but I’ve tried and liked some of their other flavors too.

That day, they weren’t offering truffle, but something else did pique my interest: the vat labeled “Chili Chocolate”, with a couple of whole red chilies set on top. Without asking for a free taste first, I ordered for a single scoop and took my cup to the al fresco dining area.

The first bite was excellent. I get why people are going crazy over chili powder in hot cocoa and whole chili in chocolate candy. First you get the chocolate, and then after about five seconds the spice kicks in. It was a pretty awesome sweet and savory treat that made my tongue confused as to whether I was eating something hot or cold. Again, it was great. For about six spoonfuls.

gelatissimoOn the seventh one, I was slowly getting sick of it. It wasn’t that I couldn’t handle the heat. I was just starting to miss the original chocolate flavor (much like when I first tried Cheetos Jalapeno: really good during the first couple of handfuls, but eventually longed for the cheesy original). The after the first few bites, you notice it’s actually sickly sweet. It’s probably to offset the spice, or it could be the sweetness just became to obvious because I was tasting it in contrast with the heat. Either way, it was just to much.

In the end, I couldn’t finish even the small cup and it wasn’t because of my small appetite. I guess there really is such a thing as too much of a good thing. On a positive note, it hasn’t turned me away from chocolate or spicy food. Just maybe not both of them together.

Overall rating: ★★☆☆


Gelatissimo
Ground Floor, Serendra, Bonifacio Global City, Taguig City

 

All images, unless otherwise stated, belong to eatplaylog.wordpress.com. If you want to share them, please include credit and a linkback. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

