Tricking out some Halloween treats

My nephews didn’t get to go trick-or-treating this year, so I wanted to do something special for them. Now, I am by no means the arts-and-crafts person in the family (that would be my older sister). But since it’s Halloween and I didn’t want to just hand them a sad bag of sweets to make up for what they missed, I decided I’d try my hand at a bit of the cutting and pasting thing.

I went to the mall and got a bunch of candy and some orange Japanese paper.

halloween-a
They have to get exactly the same thing or all hell will break loose.

 

I layered about 4 sheets of paper helter-skelter and put the candy in.

halloween-3a
Tip from an amateur: use a bowl so you can create kind of a rounded shape without punching holes in the really delicate paper.

 

I tied up the loose ends (dun-dun-DUN!) with a piece of string.

halloween-5a
The green tie’s actually the handle of an old paper bag because we didn’t have any ribbon lying around.

 

The finishing touches: I found an old black folder and cut out some eyes and mouths.

halloween-8a
What’s so funny?

 

I had to bang these out in a hurry because as soon as I got home, I told my sister to come pick them up. Still, I think they turned out pretty good.

Here’s hoping my nephews think so too.

 

All images, unless otherwise stated, belong to eatplaylog.wordpress.com. If you want to share them, please include credit and a linkback. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

