A sound lunch at Burp (restaurant review)

IMG_20140807_114427 - 2

If you’ve been following my food exploits (*cough* shameless plug *cough*), you’ll know that as much as I love food, I don’t have the voracious appetite required of a true blue foodie. So on the morning of my unplanned trip to Burp, I was actually considering just grabbing a late lunch of instant noodles because I made the mistake of assuming I could handle a breakfast of two big, fat pancakes.

But when my friend/coworker invited me to buy lunch at the food strip on our building’s ground floor, I remembered instead that we were talking about eating at this food place called Burp the day before. And because I hadn’t had pasta in a while, the thought of having just devoured an unusually large breakfast seemed like a distant memory, so off we went.

Burp is a small restaurant a stone’s throw away from my office in Mandaluyong City. The decor is a mostly white background with splashes of color from a motley crue of bottles and magazines on display, as well as the differently colored chairs (Sounds tacky, I know, but it’s not). They’ve adapted the concept of an open kitchen, with only a panel of glass separating customers from where their food is being prepared. The place was clean and bright (thanks to the glass facade), and the wait staff were also really friendly and attentive from start to finish.

Their menu’s pretty straightforward: they offer various breakfast food, pasta dishes, entrees and desserts. It’s actually a small selection, but I was fine with that; saves me the trouble of spending 15 minutes just picking what I want. For appetizers, my companion and I split an order of mozzarella sticks, which were sizeable and crunchy. The dip wasn’t just some herbed pasta sauce, but was instead a nice, chunky pomodoro with a subtle hint of spice.

IMG_20140807_115405 - 2
For the main meal I asked for Pesto Pomodori, a bowl of penne pasta tossed with garlic, tomato, basil and pomodoro. The pasta was nicely al dente and the sauce was excellent. Just a tip for cheese lovers: the Pomodori has none, so you might want to ask for some Parmesan, which I did.

IMG_20140807_115332 - 2
My friend offered me a taste of his Arabiatta, which was similar to my order, only with bacon (yes) and red and green peppers (ack!). I’m not a big fan of bell peppers, which to me always overpowers everything it touches, and I couldn’t really taste the bacon, but I did like the spiciness of the dish.

IMG_20140807_115519 - 2
Just a couple of issues, though. Why do they not have lasagna? I really liked my order, but I was also really craving for some of the layered stuff. Another fair warning: because of the aformentioned open kitchen, you’re going to end up smelling a bit like your (and other people’s) food. I also appreciate that they’re prompt with refilling the water carafes, but don’t drink your weight in it because from what I saw, they don’t have a bathroom within the restaurant.

Long story short, I spent the day carbo-loading like a weightlifter (I actually asked for a doggy bag and am eating the leftovers for dinner as I write this), and I didn’t mind. For the price (My friend and I spent under Php 450 combined), the ambiance, and the service, I do plan on going back again, especially since I was too full to get dessert and truly regret not sampling the molten lava cake and the blueberry cheesecake.

Overall rating:

Burp
Ground Floor, Uptown Pioneer, Madison Street, Buayang Bato, Mandaluyong City.

All images, unless otherwise stated, belong to eatplaylog.wordpress.com. If you want to share them, please include credit and a linkback. Thanks.

One thought on “A sound lunch at Burp (restaurant review)”

Leave a Reply

